Book: The Raven King

Book: The Raven King

Author: Maggie Stiefavater

Rating: 4.5/5

Synopsis: All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

Review (spoilery): The Raven King was the last book in the Raven Cycle series. I loved the characters and was super sad to see them all go. Overall I did love this book and series. The characters are all so real and Cabeswater felt like home to me.

Characters: Characters are Maggie’s strong point. She builds on relationships so well, making them seem real and constantly involved but it did drive the plot to become less relevant. If the plot and character’s had gotten equal share I would have enjoyed it more, even though I do love their friendship.

The relationship between Ronan and Adam took me by surprise, but I love it. Their relationship made sense to me. I’m glad that Ronan finally found something that he can anchor his life on. The fact that Adam was bind to Cabeswater but Ronan dreamt Cabeswater created more of a connection.

One relationship that I didn’t understand was Henry becoming suddenly in their friend group because he invited them to a Toga party. The Gangsey have been through so much that they bonded and don’t just openly accept people into their group, but Henry can just waltz in as a friend and no one questions it. I didn’t understand that at all. Henry didn’t even do anything besides provide the information about the robotic bees which didn’t explain why he’s their friend.

Blue and Gansey were so cute. The way they reunited in the cave at the end you can see how worried Blue was. They provided a crutch for each other in times that it was evident they needed it. I was super happy when they told everyone about their love for each other and everyone accepted it. The end was great when they were looking around for the car to go on a road trip with Henry.

Plot: The plot definitely not my favorite. The beginning was very slow and didn’t capture my attention very well. They were so many plot points that they were just revisiting and not solving the current problems. It was well into the middle that some actual important things were going on.

Can we talk about the ending?? I’m still not sure into total what happened because it was so vague. It just stopped suddenly with not everything resolved. We didn’t get any development on Ronan and Adam. We don’t know what happened with Maura.There was so many loose ends to tie up, but I think that the Ronan Trilogy will help with that.

Writing Style: Maggie has the most descriptive and wonderful writing style. She can create communication and conversations that are so real. Her writing describes settings to well that it’s like you are there. I hope she never loses that ability because it does create a real story between the reader and characters.

I have loved The Raven Cycle and all its entirety. Henrietta and Cabeswater will be places and homes of my dreams. These characters will be my best friends. I’m going to miss it.

One thought on “Book: The Raven King

Leave a Reply

