Book: Ivory and Bone

Book: Ivory and Bone

Author: Julie Eshbaugh

Synopsis: Hunting, gathering, and keeping his family safe-that’s the life seventeen-year-old Kol knows. Then bold, enigmatic Mya arrives from the south with her family, and Kol is captivated. He wants her to like and trust him, but any hopes of impressing her are ruined when he makes a careless-and nearly grave-mistake. However, there’s something more to Mya’s cool disdain…a history wrought with loss that comes to light when another clan arrives. With them is Lo, an enemy from Mya’s past who Mya swears has ulterior motives.

As Kol gets to know Lo, tensions between Mya and Lo escalate until violence erupts. Faced with shattering losses, Kol is forced to question every person he’s trusted. One thing is for sure: this was a war that Mya or Lo- Kol doesn’t know which-had been planning all along.

Rating:

Review (Spoiler Free): The other day we went to the bookstore near the place my family is staying, and I decided to pick this up. It wasn’t up my alley. I wanted something different. I wanted to love this story. I loved the general plot, but I couldn’t stay connected to the story. Some part of me kept drifting off, not really interested the story. The characters were very good and well written.

Characters: My favorite character would have to be Kol. Kol and I have a lot of similar traits and if I was in his situation I would probably do the same. I’m glad that he wasn’t so caught up in Mya that he forgot about the things at hand. Also that he respected the strength that Mya had instead of trying to rival it.

I did not like Mya in the beginning. I did root for her to open up and not be as cold and hard, but open up. After learning more about her and understanding the reasons behind her coldness I did start to like her.

Plot: Setting and plot were an A for me. I loved them both. This time period is rare to hear about. I loved the rival clans and involving a deeper background. To know that this is a new generation and not everyone is sure what is going on. Following a more clueless character to figure out while we did was cool.

Writing Style: Ah, my biggest problem. The mix between first person and second person threw me off. I think it was the reason I wasn’t into the story as much because of the way it was written. Although I didn’t have trouble understand what tools and the language they used they way Kol mentioned Mya was troubling.

That was a very bad and fast review of Ivory and Bone. It liked it, wanted to like it more but I will be reading the second one. What did you think of Ivory and Bone?

Leave a Reply

